Read more below ⬇️

 Taraba State Independent Electoral Commission (TSIEC) have declared the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as winners of the 16 local governments in the November 18, 2023 elections.

The chairman of the commission, Dr. Phillip Duwe, declared the results of the election on Sunday in Jalingo, the state capital.

Six political parties including All Progressives Congress (APC), New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Action Alliance (AA), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) and the Peoples Democratic Party PDP participated in the contest.

Duwe described the poll as the most credible and peaceful in the history of the state and called on the aggrieved persons to approach the state election tribunal which will be constituted soon.

In his reaction, the state APC chairman, Bar. Ibrahim El-Sudi, called for the immediate cancellation of the results of the election, stating that the poll did not take place as stated by the TSIEC chairman.

He said in the few places where TSIEC pretended to have conducted elections, there were no sensitive materials such as result sheets.

“As far as the APC in Taraba is concerned, there was no election in the state, we are calling for the total cancellation of the exercise; if the governor wants local council elections, he should prepare for an all-inclusive exercise.

“We were fully prepared and mobilised our supporters for the polls but we only discovered that the PDP have already written the names of their candidates for the local government positions,” he said.